Remember Me
Join
signbit
bit
UPDATED FINAL BETA

DeeZire
Posted on 22 Jan 2008, 2:41pm


Joined: 22 Jun 2005
Group: Modders

Fixed it, many thanks!

MattyDienhoff
Posted on 23 Jan 2008, 6:33am
avatar

Joined: 22 Aug 2004
Group: Modders

I really should have been trying the betas out to help with the bugtesting all this time, but I just can't be bothered with all the uninstalling and reinstalling so I'm holding out until the final release.

I must say DeeZire, the scope of this project and the fact you're managing it all by yourself amazes me. You're a legend.

DeeZire
Posted on 23 Jan 2008, 8:33am


Joined: 22 Jun 2005
Group: Modders

I have re-uploaded BETA5 with an updated SAMI script that now fixes all the problems with it.

Download BETA4 and BETA5 - replace the files in BETA4 with the updated ones in BETA5 before you install anything and you're good to go.

nununu
Posted on 23 Jan 2008, 2:01pm


Joined: 09 Mar 2007
Group: Members

i have beta 5 installed,but i can't load the beta 4 save game...should i have to start a new game?then,could you make all cutscene interior enterable like normal interior(like sweet house,ryder house,san fierro garage,burglary house n etc)?

anyway,you do a good work..i have fun with it!
thank you!

melolo
Posted on 26 Jan 2008, 12:07am


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Group: Modders

Hi all. Please, i would need some help. I read about this mod and was so excited about it, more than i have been for any "complete" game since the days of San Andreas and Half-life 2. I'm gta fan and usual visitor of gta sites since years now, although no active member (Only thing i have on the internet gta related is a flickr album with nice SA pics). Anyway, i've been all the week dying for the weekend to install this mod and play like crazy, i just loved all the features in the list, sounds more like "SA like it should have been" than "things to do in SA" to me... Lots and lots of things in the list are things i never understood how could not be in the game in the first place...and had no idea that someone was doing all this crazy hot work. BUT... i cant make it work : (

I tried and tried re-installing everything over and over...like half dozen times, and im now on the verge of grabbing the pc and throwing it out the window.

I got an europe 2.0 original copy of the game, fresh installation, no mods or savegames or config at all, dvd into the dvd unit. The patch to downgrade SA to 1.0 says it can patch, says it has patched correctly, and the game runs good, without the "2.0" in the bottom of menu screen.
I corrected the beta4 files with the last beta5 corrected files. The SAMI auto installer says it has installed the mod correctly, and i start the game and see the new artwork in the loading screens, and the menu screen works well. But about half the way of the progress bar when starting a new game, it just frozes, and the error window appears, crashing the game. Plus, uninstalling the mod doesn't work either. SAMI says "mod uninstalled", and the new artwork parts in the main loading screen are not there anymore, but the game crashes anyway when you start a new one.

Anybody can help? I need this mod... i was even thinking of offering my collaboration (if i can give any useful one) to the author for future releases, and of course i would betatest this mod to death ( i never stopped playing SA in this past three years...) Some members say the downgradding patch worked for their 2.0 versions... something in particular you did differently?



Thanks in advance, and, working the mod for me or not, so, so many congratullations to DeeZire for this incredible and unvaluable work.

DeeZire
Posted on 26 Jan 2008, 8:48am


Joined: 22 Jun 2005
Group: Modders

If you have downgraded successfuly then the crash halfway through loading is definately an IMG file problem.

Try to install it manually using the instructions, the binary IPL files that go into the IMG files can sometimes cause a problem with the SAMI script. ALso, make sure all the IMG files are not set to 'read only'.

DeeZire
Posted on 26 Jan 2008, 10:08am


Joined: 22 Jun 2005
Group: Modders

UPDATE: I think I strumbled upon a possible fix for those of you having problems with the IMG files.

It seems that, like Vice City, there can be problems when you try to replace files in the IMG archives with others, especially when the 'new' files are larger than the originals. This is the case no matter which IMG editing tool you use.

My suggestion is to delete the original file in each IMG archive before adding the new (replacement) one. Renaming files and leaving them in the IMG archive isn't really a good idea.

Hope that helps, I will amend the SAMI acript accordingly for the next release as that currently seeks to replace only, not delete then add.

melolo
Posted on 27 Jan 2008, 9:49pm


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Group: Modders


It´s working, man!!! Oh yes, it is...!!! I´ve peed my pants.

Many thanks for the quick reply! I read it yesterday and start redoing all again manually, waiting to post back with the results. I deleted each and every file that needs replacement into the IMGs before adding the modded ones. It has taken around 6 or 7 hours (i have needed 2 attempts) between yesterday and today, at first i got the loading bar passing that middle part in which it crashed before, but then crashed about 3/4 loading. So i have redone aaall again and seems i had forgot one friggin ipl.

I have just entered SA to check around a bit... and i've already seen a Bucaneer in the hood, a drunken bum, new homies, and the pizza boy mission triggering bike by the Well Stacked...

Many, many thanks, DeeZire, for this mod and for the assistance. I really want to post some ideas i would suggest for future releases or volumes, but not now, right now im just tripping back to San andreas!

Thanks again

melolo
Posted on 29 Jan 2008, 11:01pm


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Group: Modders

Kindda bug report:

I’ve playing the mod for some days now, and i’m loving it, you need to download this if you hadn’t already. So, even if this post looks like complaining, its not, im just feedbacking. About the good things, i can only say that im finding still MORE enhancements and tweaks everywhere that the ones that are included in the giant features list. This mod is a work of love. (No, im not the grandfather of the author).


Now for the issues (played on a downgraded euro 2.0 version of SA):

-Draw distance has been dramatically reduced. Not sure if this is bug or on purpose for better performance, but LS looks like in the PS2, and thats bad for an scenic views nuts like me. Moving the menu option up doesnt seem to work at all.

-Every time i have answered yes to Denisse for coffe (5), the game freezed in a black screen just before entering the minigame. If that happens for all the girls, Millie too, that would prevent the Casino part to be completed...

-Crane with magnet in LS, now usable, does not get fixed to cars.

-Sometimes the icon with your hand stays on screen during real time cinematics (girlfriend saying bye, etc).

-After the lowriders race, Cesar calls you for the “Impounded” mission. I leaved the car right on the finish line to check the adrenaline pill, and got the call right there while Cesar was right by me in his car, just looking forward. He even attacked me when i hit his car by accident going for the pill. Maybe he should drive away quickly, or just fade out.

-When Emmet drives you around on bike, the airport should be prevented from spawning dealers inside, because Emmet keeps trying to enter and just hitting the wall.

-Pizza Boy bikes are used now by pizza deliverers and by normal people too.

-Sometimes vehicles spawn stuck into the asphalt, in areas where the road goes up or down (bridges, freeway exits..); parked trailers spawn in middle air and then fall some meters to the ground, their paintjobs popping up later (not that this matters...)

-A blue icon, same than the ones in the fireman submission but blue, is right on the police building in LS from the first “Chops” submission i triggered, and is always there on the radar, like a mission icon, and not only when you are on that area of map.

-The bike rampage in Montgomery ends if you fall into the water, but does not allow you to leave the bike, and you drown.



Next ones are not bugs, just oppinions on certain stuff:

-It seems there is new lighting. Basic colors now look much brighter, a bit “vice city”, and whites and yellows are a bit difficult to look at when in sunny or very illuminated areas, they almost “bloom”; even some pool tables make a bit difficult to play. Reducing the “bright” in the options menu doesnt work, just makes colors strangely golden green.

-Weather pattern seems changed too. Im still in LS and not checked other areas, but im sure there are many less hot and sunny days now, (i’ve never seen still a “toodamnhot” day with the heat blur effect), and it rains much more, with many days of a white and bit foggy light i dont remember from the original game (maybe its just the reduced drawing distance effect). I think original weather patters fit better the game.

-Version 1.2 and 2.0 of SA fixed the cars never getting clean or more dirty; this being version 1.0 brings back the all cars dirty bug, seems strange in expensive cars. I know its a game’s bug and not a mod’s one, im just pointing it (maybe for future releases).

-Windsor now is a poor areas car, when it in fact is a classic british style sport model, that only spawned before in rich areas.

-Maybe freeroam allies could be stronger, or at least show their life bar on screen to know how things go. I missed Ryder in the hood’s freeroam selection. Dillimore freeroam puts Cesar as ally before you even meet him.




Thats all for now, hope it is of any help.

DeeZire
Posted on 29 Jan 2008, 11:21pm


Joined: 22 Jun 2005
Group: Modders

Thanks for the feedback. I will look into the issues you pointed out, much appreciate you taking the time:)

As for the lighting/weather changes/draw distance, try not replacing the stream.ini and timecyc.dat files, that should leave the original SA settings as they were - please let me know if this helps.

coopgang
Posted on 30 Jan 2008, 5:07pm


Joined: 28 Dec 2005
Group: Members

Quick question: Do you have to start a new game if you get the 5th version of the BETA?

BruceD
Posted on 30 Jan 2008, 7:48pm


Joined: 21 Feb 2006
Group: Members

Probably yes. Deezire could release final version, not beta 2-3 times on month.

melolo
Posted on 31 Jan 2008, 2:47am


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Group: Modders

 QUOTE (DeeZire @ 23:21, Jan 29 2008)


As for the lighting/weather changes/draw distance, try not replacing the stream.ini and timecyc.dat files, that should leave the original SA settings as they were - please let me know if this helps.




I have a backup of the original stream.ini, but not one of the timecyc.dat...

Changed stream.ini by the original one and it didnt work for the draw distance, keeps the same. I´m not sure, but i would say that the game is sticking to default draw distance for my system (which is low by defaul, though i rise it to max. despite performance for better visuals, im always taking pics). Is there some other file that messes with the game settings or options menu, beyond this one?

About the lighting and weather in the mod, in fact i'm starting to like them, think they give the mod its own personality.


---About bugs, one i just found: I never do the "wrong side of tracks" mission like its designed to be done, find it extremely unbalanced and difficult, probably the hardest in the game; so what i do is just go up the round side of the first bridge the train takes, just after leaving the station and turning left, then leave bike and jump on the train inbetween the Vagos guys, leaving Smoke behind, kill them, jump and walk back to Smoke. But now it doesnt work because of the package thing, when you end the guys and are not with smoke and the game should point you to the package, first point you to go back for smoke, then when you arrive to him there is no package anywhere, and after a while the train crosses bridge towards Venturas and you fail mision, even with all the Vagos dead. (I won the mission anyway doing it the "right" way, tried two times, if im not wrong the mod changes Smokes mg5 to a tec9 and it works better for whatever the reason, but anyway i though would be good to point the issue)---

hax0rofl
Posted on 03 Feb 2008, 12:53pm


Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Group: Members

This mod sounds great, your list of changes to SA is just amazing.
Yesterday I downloaded BETA 4 and BETA 5, extracted beta 4 and then extracted beta 5 on top of it so it was a fully updated beta 4 :P
Then I installed the SAMI and ticked the Backup box. After installing, GTA would load up to halfway and then crash, the same happened even after restoring the backup. So I've had to reinstall SA :/
Gonna try manual install later but just wondering if anyone else had this problem.

melolo
Posted on 03 Feb 2008, 6:33pm


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Group: Modders

 QUOTE (hax0rofl @ 12:53, Today)

Gonna try manual install later but just wondering if anyone else had this problem.



Just read previous posts, man... :P
Yes, i had that problem and then tried manual install AND deleting all the files into the IMG's that had to be modded (not just adding the new ones and leaving there the old ones), just like DeeZire said. And it works. (And its soo f***ing good...)

JaxMac
Posted on 04 Feb 2008, 4:44pm


Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Group: Members

Hi everyone. First post but have been following this mod for awhile. GTA:SA is my favorite game since it came out in pc version.

I ran into the same problem as hax0rolf using sami. I manually installed and updated betas' 4 and 5 as directed by DeeZire, including deleting vice replacing. Everything worked as advertised....until I got to the 'Against All Odds' mission with Catalina. Everytime I tried to enter the betting parlor in Montgomery the game froze. Never could get it to work. I at first thought that maybe it had something to do with the added Army scene where CJ blows up the army trucks. So I went directly there from the ally at the beginning of a new game. Still froze upon entering. I'm running vista business x64. Anyone got any sugestion? Never had the problem with earlier betas.

DeeZire, admireable job you have undertook and doing. My hat is off to you!!

Chesser
Posted on 04 Feb 2008, 4:55pm


Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Group: Modders

In the mission "Beach Party" the circle and the arrows doesnt show up. That makes the mission kind of impossible to pass, any suggestions why and how to bypass it?

JaxMac
Posted on 04 Feb 2008, 5:23pm


Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Group: Members

 QUOTE (Chesser @ 16:55, Today)
In the mission "Beach Party" the circle and the arrows doesnt show up. That makes the mission kind of impossible to pass, any suggestions why and how to bypass it?


A long shot but this might work. I kept getting the 'gtasa.exe has stopped working' when trying to load the 'AWOL Angel' mission. Finally I copied beta 4 (with the beta 5 changes added) into the gtasa directory again and 'AWOL Angel' loaded. I didn't insert or add anything to the IMG archives again or reinstall the game. Didn't work for 'Against All Odds' though. Good luck.

DeeZire
Posted on 04 Feb 2008, 6:46pm


Joined: 22 Jun 2005
Group: Modders

 QUOTE (Chesser @ 16:55, Today)
In the mission "Beach Party" the circle and the arrows doesnt show up. That makes the mission kind of impossible to pass, any suggestions why and how to bypass it?


Did you make sure to add the new LD_BEAT.txd file?

JaxMac
Posted on 04 Feb 2008, 8:17pm


Joined: 04 Feb 2008
Group: Members

I just did a clean install of gtasa and manually added beta 4 and 5. Started new game and went directly to the OTB (Off-Track Betting) parlor in Montgomery and it froze again. Dang. The screen stays blank except for 'Inside Track Betting' written in lower right hand corner of monitor. I can ctl+alt+del out and use task manager to kill gtasa.exe to get back to the desktop without a hard reboot but really want to get past badlands. Any ideas?


Could someone send me a saved game with 'Against All Odds' completed or could I email a saved game I've completed up to that point and if you can get in the betting parlor complete it for me and email it back?

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 10

Back to topic listings

bit
brick bit ?E?E bit bit
bit bit   bit bit